NIMBY 50 2013

Another big race ticked off on the list here in Canada. The Nimby 50 has to be the toughest MTB race in all of BC. The terrain is unforgiving, the descents are fast and loose and the climb is over 100 switchbacks of pain and suffering. But with Mount Currie as a backdrop you cant complain. Pemberton hosted the race for its 4th year and I have to say it was great. The post race grub was all local grown and really tasty.

As for my race, the prep was not the best. I had family visiting for the two weeks leading up to the race and didnt get enough training in to deal with the pace and distance. I finished in a time of 3.11hrs which was good enough for a top 30 but I really wanted to finish between 2.40-2.50hrs which would have put me top 5. Ah well thats racing. The heat and cramping got the better of me. Roll on the Test of Metal in 2 weeks. Check out the awesome picture Amir Shahrestani got of me below.

And check the video from Connor MacLeod too. Really captures the race.

[vimeo 67097746]
Leave a Reply

