TODAYS POST IS BROUGHT TO YOU BY THE LETTER ‘E’. AS IN ‘E’ IS FOR ‘ENDURO’

The summer is here in full force now in Vancouver and the races are coming thick and fast. Last weekend I made a last minute decision to enter the North Shore Bike Fest Marathon XC, Enduro and Super D event. It was taking place on Mount Seymour and included an XC Race with timed stages for the Enduro on the lap. This meant I could race hard and get timed segments towards the Enduro. Usually you rest inbetween stages in Enduro but not for me as I still wanted a good XC time also. It can work in your favour if you are pinned and keep going or not so much if you are exhausted after a massive climb and bust straight into a timed section.

Anyway there was a timing issue(nobody at finish of stage to record times) on Stage 1 which meant the organiser didnt record times for this part which would have really suited the XC riders as it had a climb at the end of stage. Pity really as it would have made a huge difference to the overall. By stage 2,3,4 I was flying and managed to grab a 12th overall on stage 4 which was great considering the Pro XC field and DH riders competing.

I managed to finish the 25km loop in 1hr42mins and was good enough to win the Citizen Mens category in the XC and place me 5th in the Enduro. On the Sunday I rode in the Super D event on the same bike that I raced in the XC. My Santa Cruz Blur TRC was in top form even with the Maxxis Crossmark on the back. I made some big mistakes during the 14min Dh and missed out on the win by 25seconds and took 3rd. I was a bit dissapointed when I found out I got 3rd as if I had a clean run I could have done alot better. Oh well thats racing.

Speaking of it only being racing it was Louise’s first ever race in Canada and she felt the brunt of the joys of racing. She punctured while being on a flying run. These are the highs and lows of racing. She was flying and I hope this doesnt stop her trying again now that she knows she has the pace to compete for a podium.

So my results are as follows for the weekend:

Marathon XC: 1st Citizen Men (Time/Number was not recorded correctly)

Enduro Day 1: 5th Citizen Men

Super D: 3rd Citizen Men

Enduro 2day overall: 3rd Citizen Men

Thanks to Scott Robarts Photography for the pics.

Leave a Reply

