CROSS SEASON IS HERE NOW!

The season is here and Ive started off with a bang. This year I will be concentrating on Singlespeed first and the Elite Racing secondly. Why do you ask? Why make life harder by removing gears from my bike? Well for a few reasons….Im not fast enough to challenge at the front of the Elite field in only my second year at this level and after building a Singlespeed bike last season i fell in love with it. Riding SS makes you become a better rider. You have to carry speed more, brake less and become fluid on the bike. I think in the long term it will make me a better bike handler.

Plus the SSCXWC15 is happening this year in Victoria, BC and Im going to be racing. I didn’t rush into the racing this year as I was carrying a shoulder injury from a MTB crash mid summer. My first race was the VCXC at Foreshore Park.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 10.31.46 PM

I lined up against the usual suspects plus a few more as the field has now grown to a healthy bunch. The plan was just to ride and see how I felt a race speed. I got a front row slot to my surprise.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 10.32.03 PM

I paced myself off the start and stayed near the front. Foreshore is famous for its sandpits and didn’t disappoint this year. I got through clean on the first lap and stayed in the lead group. After a few laps I was in 3rd place and chased down the two front runners right until the line. I surprised myself on how strong I felt at the end of the race.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 10.36.12 PM

1st Steve Devantier

2nd Richard Machein

3rd Paul Mc Carthy

A week later I made the trip to Whistler for the first round of the BC Premier Series. Last year the course was a bit of a slog. They made some changes for 2015 and it rode a lot better. The field was smaller as people didn’t like all the climbing. I managed to cruise around for most of the race until the last lap when some of the guys tried to attack. I came to the front as we passed through the village and made our way up onto the ski slope. Richard Machein was right behind me as we approached the run up. He managed to ride up further than me and then got a small gap. I chased right to the line but could not get past him before the line.

12029646_10153303637208402_1655907801714056716_o

12045804_10153302194818402_3652628212250970254_o

1st Richard Machein

2nd Paul Mc Carthy

3rd Mark Oldenburg

Thanks to photo.mlazz.com, Louise and Andy for the photos.

Leave a Reply

