BC CX CHAMPS – BACK IN THE EVENT MANAGEMENT GAME

Its been a few years since I left the Event Management Business. In the last year I have wanted to get back into it and also give something back to the Vancouver Cycling community that has welcomed me with open arms. After attending races here for the past couple of years I new that I could bring an event to BC that was unique and bring riders together. I sat down with the Steed Team and proposed that we host the BC Provincial Championships. They fully supported by hair brain idea and we applied to host the 2015-2016 Championships. I won’t bore you with the high’s and low’s of the issues we faced over the 9 months prior to the event but all I will say in hindsight is that it was a blessing. The District of Squamish and the Logger’s Sports Grounds welcomed us and played the perfect hosts. 2016 is going to be even bigger I promise this.


Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 4.45.22 PM
My partner in crime throughout the process was Dan Gronross. He had years of experience with BC Cups and working with Cycling BC on other events. He was also there to kerb my wild ideas of flamethrowers and smoke machines (but they may return in 2016).

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 4.48.59 PM

The venue was second to none. Traditionally Cyclocross Races take place in Parks but we wanted to do something different. We brought it to the Logger’s Sports Arena complete with Grandstands and beer gardens. And look at the backdrop!!!!Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 4.44.40 PM
Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 4.46.59 PM

The event was a huge success thanks to all the sponsors, supporters, partners and racers that came along. We plan to get even bigger and better for 2016. There will be announcements in the coming months.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 4.48.32 PM

Check out the awesome trophies that I commissioned Painthouse Customs to decorate for us.

Leave a Reply

